Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Wild man of Europe Spotted in Canterbury - SLP3-41 updated


Come join Rev. Jeff and Dr. David Batdorf for all that was missing in your life last week. That's right the SLP is back and on a special night this week TUESDAY! You won't want to miss all the news we have to catch up on and a new Quasi Theory from Dean Copper and some enlightenment from your old pal Wes Losner. Followed up by the WOODWOSE of Europe. What is it, where does it live and all the postulation we like to call a podcast. The fun starts at 8pm PST 10pm CST 11pm EST 4am UK and the land of OZ can google it from there! www.youtube.com/sloungepodcast

check back later for a link to the like show.

The wild man (also wildman, or "wildman of the woods", archaically woodwose or wodewose) is a mythical figure that appears in the artwork and literature of medieval Europe, comparable to the satyr or faun type in classical mythology and to Silvanus, the Roman god of the woodlands.
The defining characteristic of the figure is its "wildness"; from the 12th century they were consistently depicted as being covered with hair. Images of wild men appear in the carved and painted roof bosses where intersectingogee vaults meet in the Canterbury Cathedral, in positions where one is also likely to encounter the vegetal Green Man. The image of the wild man survived to appear as supporter for heraldic coats-of-arms, especially in Germany, well into the 16th century. Renaissance engravers in Germany and Italy were particularly fond of wild men, wild women, and wild families, with examples from Martin Schongauer (died 1491) and Albrecht Dürer(1471–1528) among others.

No comments:

Post a Comment